Sarah Morris

"Touch" at the Espoo Museum of Modern Art

November 19, 2014 - March 18, 2018

Touch is the title of the new Saastamoinen Foundation Art Collection Exhibition. The display comprises three sections with the overarching theme of humanity at its core.

The exhibition will be updated for example with new acquisitions. Read more about the new work in the exhibition.

The first section of the display, Human, space and encounters, explores the experimential and interactive nature of art while focusing on the concept of encounters with art the communication between a work of art and the viewer. The reality created by the artist and that of the viewer’s own come into contact in the encounter between the two. This special interaction allows for a sense of presence and humanity to arise.

The second section of the display, Human, identity and body, delves deeply into the fundamental mysteries of humanity. This section presents the tools that visual arts have to represent identity, physicality and our relationship with history and memories. Attention is also drawn on how the ever-increasing avalanche of images in our culture affects the artists' way of representing humanity, body and identity. The second phase exhibits the various methods that can be used in art to expand and to question the concept of humanity through mythical and surrealistic undertones.

The third section of the display, Human and power, highlights the idea of the human being as a social, hierarchical actor who is part of a community, society and global power structures and ecosystems. Power relations, mechanisms of power, as well as values, morality and beliefs form the thematic core; these determine the way an individual operates and position themselves in relations to other human beings, other species, as part of natural ecosystem.

The three sections of the exhibition are curated by Pilvi Kalhama, Päivi Karttunen and Henna Paunu.

Artists features in the first section, Human, space and encounters: Ville Andersson, Miroslaw Balka, Hans-Christian Berg, Marcus Eek, Eric Freeman, Anne-Karin Furunes, Susanne Gottberg, Tommi Grönlund & Petteri Nisunen, Annika von Hausswolff, Hannaleena Heiska, Pekka Jylhä, Anish Kapoor, Ola Kolehmainen, Leena Luostarinen, Ryan McGinness, Leena Nio, David Nash, Mimmo Paladino, Jaume Plensa, Pauno Pohjolainen, Aurora Reinhard, Heli Rekula, Nina Roos, Janne Räisänen, Mari Sunna, Anna Tuori and Marianna Uutinen.

Artists featured in the second section, Human, identity and body: Maija Albrecht, Alice Anderson, Ville Andersson, Francesco Clemente, Enzo Cucchi, Anne-Karin Furunes, Outi Heiskanen, Emma Helle, Jenni Hiltunen, IC-98, Petra Innanen, Ulla Jokisalo, Jukka Korkeila, Anne Koskinen, Hannele Kylänpää, Juhani Linnovaara, Sami Lukkarinen, Elina Merenmies, Annette Messager, Rauha Mäkilä, Meret Oppenheim, Anna Retulainen, Janne Räisänen, Hanna Saarikoski, Mari Sunna, Jaakko Tornberg, Katja Tukiainen, Anu Tuominen, Pauliina Turakka Purhonen and Risto Vilhunen.

Artists in the third section, Human and power, are Eino Ahonen, Kari Cavén, Ina Colliander, Erno Enkenberg, Anna Estarriola, Radoslaw Gryta, João Maria Gusmão & Pedro Paiva, Kaisaleena Halinen, Tiina Heiska, Sasha Huber, Martti Jämsä, Kaarina Kaikkonen, Ismo Kajander, Anne Koskinen, Markus Kåhre, Maija Luutonen, Jarmo Mäkilä, Jaakko Niemelä, Inka Nieminen, Nelli Palomäki, Matti Saanio, Stiina Saaristo, Jyrki Siukonen, Minna Suoniemi, Henry Wuorila-Stenberg and Jukka Vikberg.

Back to News